Herdis Engels  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:48
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
Nov 30, 2005

Hi!
Recently I moved to Spain, and I am wondering how to declare my income here correctly and how to register, having a "normal" job (with registration in Social Security), but doing part-time translations. Can you be a "part-time freelancer"??? How does that work? Does anyone have similar experiences in Spain? Thanks for all types of information
Sinca

Direct link Reply with quote

Francisco Bolaños  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not sure... Nov 30, 2005

I think you can not be a "part time freelancer". You can register as freelancer ("Profesional autónomo"), but this can be a little expensive if you dont have a good income from translation.

Scheherezade Suria Lopez  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
they are different things Nov 30, 2005

Hi!

Your case is similar to mine. I work as an English teacher in the morning and I translate in the afternoon (like superheroes, who have a double life). Even though I have a contract of employment and my boss pays my social security, this isn't valid to translate. So I have to pay 150 euros on a monthly basis to be a freelancer (because I am under thirty; I reckon the full amount is more than 200) and deal with the income tax return every three months.

Therefore, it doesn't matter whether you are a full or a part-time translator.

Tough life, isn't it?

Herdis Engels  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:48
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you Dec 1, 2005

Thank you both for your reply. I think I should just go and get professional advise too, to not comit any unforgiveable mistakes concerning social security. It is really a bit unfair to have to pay 2x...
Have a beautiful day! sinca

Francisco Bolaños  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
Superheros!! Dec 2, 2005