how much do you take...
Thread poster: N,i,k,a
N,i,k,a
N,i,k,a
Local time: 12:40
English to German
+ ...
Feb 15, 2006

well, I'm still a student of translation in Germany and I have to say that little is told there as to the REAL LIFE of translators...

So I ask you: how much can you ask for "simple" translations... How is it calculated (words? signs? pages?....)

Angela Arnone
Angela Arnone  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
Italian to English
+ ...
Dear N,i,k,a Feb 15, 2006

Welcome to proz,
I can tell you that translations are charged by keystroke, by word and by line length.
Usually not by page as a page doesn't really have a definite length.
How much you can charge depends on many factors, so this isn't the right place for people to tell you what the "best rate" is.
If someone translating the same language pairs as you wants to offer advice, they might like to right to you privately.
Regards
Angela - moderator

N,i,k,a wrote:

well, I'm still a student of translation in Germany and I have to say that little is told there as to the REAL LIFE of translators...

So I ask you: how much can you ask for "simple" translations... How is it calculated (words? signs? pages?....)

Orla Ryan
Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 11:40
... Feb 15, 2006

Is there any chance you can ask your teachers to discuss this kind of thing in class and perhaps suggest to them that they invite a "real-life" translator to come in and talk to your class about the nuts & bolts of the profession.

Stefanie Sendelbach
Stefanie Sendelbach  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
Very good suggestion Feb 15, 2006

Orla Ryan wrote:
Is there any chance you can ask your teachers to discuss this kind of thing in class and perhaps suggest to them that they invite a "real-life" translator to come in and talk to your class about the nuts & bolts of the profession.