Russian-English engineering translation----complete novice needs help
Thread poster: MarginWalker
MarginWalker
MarginWalker
United States
Local time: 14:28
Russian to English
Mar 14, 2006

Hello, I have been offered a job translating engineering documents from Russian to English, and I have no experience with this work at all and virtually no experience with translation in general.
My main question is about rates. What do some of you charge and what would be considered a good or normal rate for a complete novice? Of course I am willing to work pretty cheaply due to my experience level, but I dont want to be ripped off or taken advantage of.
Here is a small sample
... See more
Hello, I have been offered a job translating engineering documents from Russian to English, and I have no experience with this work at all and virtually no experience with translation in general.
My main question is about rates. What do some of you charge and what would be considered a good or normal rate for a complete novice? Of course I am willing to work pretty cheaply due to my experience level, but I dont want to be ripped off or taken advantage of.
Here is a small sample of the document I will be translating (I don't need any translation help!):

Примечания.
1. Под промысловыми понимаются трубопроводы между площадками отдельных промысловых сооружений (скважин, УППГ, УКПГ, ГС, сооружений газоперерабатывающего завода и др. объектов).
Границами промысловых трубопроводов является ограждения соответствующих площадок, а при отсутствии ограждения в пределах отсыпки соответствующих площадок.

It is basically 25 pages of that (with some graphs and charts and some formulas).

I know some of you do or have done engineering translation. How should I charge? Per word or page?