Thread poster: juliacgs

juliacgs  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:45
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 15, 2006

Hello everyone,

I’m a Spanish freelance translator and I’m currently living in Madrid, but this next summer, my boyfriend has to go to US, to work at the Arizona State University (Tempe) for the three months of summer (from July to September: in total, less than 3 months) and I'm going to go with him.

Of course, I want to continue my activity as a freelance translator while I’m there, so I wonder if you could give me some tips about which kind of legal requirements I need to fulfil in order to have no problems with the American administration (or any other kind of tips you may think of!). I intend to continue working for my current employers and, why not, I would like to do networking when I'm there, but on a freelance basis, given that I’m not going to stay there for a long time...

Thank you all for your help!!! Happy Easter!!!

Julia

Direct link Reply with quote

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:45
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not to worry Apr 16, 2006

Just do it, everyone esle does.

But be warned, the temperature there is 40`C - 45`C in the summer. Can you stand the heat? That's the worry!

Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:45
German to English
+ ...
No work visa for short trip Apr 17, 2006

You're just doing some work while on a three-month vacation to the US, so I don't see any problem or necessity for a work visa, if that's what you're asking. If I took my laptop with me on a three-month beach vacation somewhere, I wouldn't expect to have to report that to the authorities.

Have fun on your trip!

[Edited at 2006-04-17 14:19]

Woodstock  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Check with nearest US Consulate or Embassy Apr 17, 2006