Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Off topic: I am a beginner and feel lost
Thread poster: Malgorzata Tichoruk
Malgorzata Tichoruk
Poland
Local time: 03:13
English to Polish
Apr 19, 2006

I finally got my courage to change my career and do what I know would give me the most pleasure. But the more I research, the harder I try, the more lost I feel. Should I give up?

Direct link Reply with quote

Rita Bilancio  Identity Verified
English to Italian
+ ...
of course not! Apr 20, 2006

Maybe I am not the right person who should give you advice
as I am nearly a newbie but DON'T give up!
There were many topics about this problem so have a look for them: be optimistic and patient. Your first job is about to come.

Break your leg!

Woodstock  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Be patient Apr 20, 2006

Hi!

Becoming established as a freelancer can be discouraging and tough, but with patience and perseverance, you will achieve your goals.

You can start by reading in the ProZ forum and article knowledge base (look under the Community tab above). You will learn a lot about approaches to getting more customers and better rates over time. I've been a translator for years and years, but usually parallel or within the scope of some kind of other job. Joining Proz when I decided to focus more on freelance translation a few months ago was a very smart move, and I've learned a lot by participating in KudoZ, the forum, etc.

Good luck!

Simon Bruni  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:13
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
From a fellow newbie Apr 20, 2006

Malgorzata Tichoruk wrote:

I finally got my courage to change my career and do what I know would give me the most pleasure. But the more I research, the harder I try, the more lost I feel. Should I give up?

Hi Malgorzata,