CV Advice -recent graduate
Thread poster: LottaJ

LottaJ
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:03
English to Finnish
Nov 5, 2006

Hi

I am a Finnish graduate with MA in English and I am trying to establish myself as freelancer. I woud appreciate any advice on my cv, as I am not sure if it shows my skills in the right way. Also, would this CV be ok to send to translation companies or should I modify it somehow?

Direct link Reply with quote

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:03
English to French
+ ...
Researching CVs Nov 6, 2006

Welcome to ProZ, Lotta

I'd say to get you started on CV advice, you would have to search the article knowledge base, not only on CV advice in particular, but also more general articles on marketing your services. This is the place to start: http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/categories/Business-of-Translation-and-Interpreting/Getting-Established/

Also, I recommend you browse ProZ profiles to take a look at the CVs posted in them. Most profiles include a link to a downloadable CV. You can also just browse profiles because the info inside them is already very useful for deciding what to put in your CV and what not to put in it. A hint: do a directory search and fill in the search form as if you were looking for yourself in the directory - enter your language pair(s), your country of residence, your (prospective) specialization, etc. Compare those profiles/CVs with yours, you will have many ideas. Jot them all down - brainstorm!

A forum search on the subject may also produce great results.

If your working language pair is EN>FN, you should concentrate on that. A client who wants you to translate into Finnish is not at all interested in the fact that you speak Italian, and with the number of languages you added to your CV, clients may think you are trying to do everything at once, which can mean to them that you are surely not an expert in your main language pair as you concentrate too much on other languages.