https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/67332-experience_and_client_portfolio.html

Experience and client portfolio
Thread poster: Fabrice -
Fabrice -
Fabrice -
Local time: 21:39
English to French
+ ...
Mar 1, 2007

Until now I never actively seeked translations, it was a side job and they always came through referrals.
But now I am going to transition to make translating my main activity.

So I am going to start sending my resume to agencies, but I have to 2 concerns:

First I have been doing translations for close to 8 years but it has always been a like an evening job, with some long period of inactivity.
So I would appreciate some advice on how to put the emphasis on
... See more
Until now I never actively seeked translations, it was a side job and they always came through referrals.
But now I am going to transition to make translating my main activity.

So I am going to start sending my resume to agencies, but I have to 2 concerns:

First I have been doing translations for close to 8 years but it has always been a like an evening job, with some long period of inactivity.
So I would appreciate some advice on how to put the emphasis on my translation experience over my full time jobs.

Second I have a small portfolio of customers but I am worried that if I mention them some unscrupulous agencies might use my portfolio as a prospection list. And rather than get more jobs actually end up with less customers.
Collapse

Latin_Hellas (X)
Latin_Hellas (X)
United States
Local time: 06:39
Italian to English
+ ...
Cite Industry or Company Type, Not Company Name Mar 2, 2007

As for the second point, on your resume simply cite the industry or types of companies (i.e. airplane parts manufacturers, banks, high technology companies, the oil & gas industry, etc.), and not the names of the actual companies.

Good luck!

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 06:39
Italian to English
Different ways of writing CVs Mar 2, 2007