Need Opinion on Getting Started
Thread poster: Natalia López
Natalia López
Local time: 16:33
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 23, 2007

This is a sort of personal question; I'd like to have the opinion of translators who've surely been around more than me.

I just graduated from La Universidad del Museo Social Argentino.

I haven't had real experience in translating, just academic experience and personal documents or web pages for friends and such.

Yet, I've been recently contacted by an agency and a translator offering me translation jobs. To be honest, I'm a bit insecure about my skills. I believe I have what it takes to be a good translator, but some jobs I've seen scare me a bit. On the other hand, being a unexperienced translator, I'm not really sure if I can afford rejecting jobs, even if it's because of their difficulty.

Then there's the rates issue. I really couldn't charge the same that experienced translators charge, that I know very well, but I don't want to give myself away either. I mean, I might not have the experience but I've worked really hard to get my University Degree, for 4 years.

And finally, there's another issue concerning the reality of the country I live in. I'm only 22 years old, I still live with my parents (actually, with my mother), but I have to help her support the house. That leads me to having to get a permanent fulltime job, which takes around 9 or 10 hours of my day. That obviously doesn't leave much time for translating, and so that is a disadvantage for me too, because I can't even quote on certain jobs due to their deadline.

I definetely want to be a translator, I just love it, and I intend to continue studying and growing, but I just can't see how to start...

I'd really appreciate your opinions on this, and thanks for taking the time to read

[Edited at 2007-03-23 18:08]

Direct link Reply with quote

Lorenia Rincon  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 14:33
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
opinión... Mar 23, 2007