Thread poster: irene serafini

irene serafini  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:07
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 1, 2007

Hello,

I am considering the possibility of sending out some curriculums to independent publishing houses which I personally admire. It would be very nice to collaborate with them, but as I am new in this translation field I really don't know which is the best way to approach them, offering my services.
I know I would hardly receive any answer from them...but, does someone have any tips?

thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Samia Touhami
France
Local time: 00:07
English to French
Tips Jun 1, 2007

Hi Irene,

I've been trying to approach publishing houses for several months now.

You'll not catch their attention by sending a CV because they receive loads of them everyday. Unless you have already been published, it will be hard. I think the best thing to do is call them, try to reach the person in charge of the translation department, and get an appointment to show your work. You can also send them translation extracts that have a link with the kind of texts they publish, along with your CV and whatever is relevant for your application.

Also, talk about it around you to find out if your friends or relatives know publishers or people working in a publishing house; they may introduce you to them.

I hope this helps.

Samia

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 17:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
Take tips from advice for aspiring authors? Jun 1, 2007

There are countless sources of advice for authors who hope to have their book published; how to write a cover letter introducing their book, how to find the publishers most receptive to their pitch, etc. Perhaps it would be worth researching and applying these counsels, making the appropriate changes from "author" to "translator". Then again, it's never yet worked for me.

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 21:07
English to Portuguese
+ ...