International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

Getting started
Thread poster: Fernanda Le Cocq
Fernanda Le Cocq
Local time: 15:06
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nov 12, 2007

Hi

I am new in this whole translation world and would really appreciate if anyone could give me a tip on how to start, what course I should do, in order to initiate my career as a translator.

Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

LuciaC
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:06
English to Italian
+ ...
Article Knowledgebase Nov 12, 2007

Hello

Have you read all the articles in the section 'Getting started'?

[http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/categories/Business-of-Translation-and-Interpreting/

Best wishes,
Lucia

Suzette Martin-Johnson
Canada
Member (2007)
French to English
+ ...
Advice Nov 12, 2007

Hi Fernanda

It's hard to give specific advice as there are many options out there. However, as you are already a university graduate and might not want to go for another full-time three-year degree for now, how about an online course such as those offered by the University of Toronto and New York University?

I would suggest that you focus on translating to your native language unless you are fully bilingual. This will help your product to be the best it can be. It would also be good to work out 1-3 areas of specialization. I see you are an international relations graduate. That should be a good place to start although I think a lot of people (including me) specialize in that area - so you have to look at demand. I see you have subtitling etc on your profile...