Cat Tool: Which one ?
Thread poster: Robert Manipole

Robert Manipole  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:58
Spanish to English
Nov 21, 2007

I have just recently become serious about freelancing. The problem is, a lot of the proposals require that you use Trados, wordfast, etc. Well because I'm just entering this exciting field, I have no knowledge as to which tool I should buy. I am a person of very limited funds, so I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to which tool is the best for me, in terms of being economical, and of high quality. Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Sonja Tomaskovic  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:58
English to German
+ ...
Try trial version Nov 22, 2007

Most commercial packages offer trial versions of their tools. I would start there and see which one suits me best.

You will also see that each and every tool works in its own way. You will certainly encounter some that work better for you and some that don't.

As for free CAT tools, I can only point you to OmegaT at this stage. Wordfast is free as long as your TM does not exceed a certain size, and requires a license only beyond this TM size. However, it is IMHO fairly priced and worth the investment. You may also want to have a look at Metatexis, which offers different price structures for different versions, of which the most basic one is quite affordable.

There is a myriad of other tools available, and you may need to search the fora or do a Google search to find a complete list of available CAT tools.

Good luck,

Sonja

xxxLatin_Hellas
United States
Italian to English
+ ...
Perennial Question Nov 22, 2007

This has been discussed before, you may wish to do forum searches to follow some of the discussion.

As I recall, the consensus view on the difference between Wordfast and Trados is: