References for Agencies
Thread poster: jtucci
jtucci
jtucci  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:09
French to English
Jan 7, 2008

I'm just getting started in the translation business and have sent my resume to a few agencies. They often send back an application which asks for references. As a newbie I have no references in translation, but also I thought it was bad to give references to agencies as it provides them a lead to potential new clients.

What should I write when they ask for references?

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 23:09
English to Dutch
+ ...
Depends.... Jan 7, 2008

I got my first job by quoting on a job posted at ProZ, no references asked. That agency liked my work, so they told me I could use them as a reference. I've only done so twice, but never got a single job from either of the agencies that asked for it.
I then asked for a WWA in my profile from people I established a good working relationship with. I have two - I'm usually asked to provide three references, but I refer these people to my profile anyway. Most agencies seem to accept it.
... See more
I got my first job by quoting on a job posted at ProZ, no references asked. That agency liked my work, so they told me I could use them as a reference. I've only done so twice, but never got a single job from either of the agencies that asked for it.
I then asked for a WWA in my profile from people I established a good working relationship with. I have two - I'm usually asked to provide three references, but I refer these people to my profile anyway. Most agencies seem to accept it.

In addition, I tell the client that I do not give references, because I've signed Non-Disclosure Agreements with quite a few clients and have made non-disclosure my general rule. I usually add that I will be treating them and their end-clients with the same confidentiality. This has been accepted by quite a few agencies.