https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/96188-translation_tests_with_no_follow_up.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Translation tests with no-follow-up
Thread poster: Daniela Cesana
Daniela Cesana
Daniela Cesana
Local time: 01:27
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 5, 2008

I am a freelance translator who is trying to get established again after having worked as in-house for some years and a break of 2 years for personal reasons.
In this period I have happened to complete some translation tests and I would like to bring up the question since I am very disappointed.
I have received positive feedbacks but I haven’t been assigned any translation jobs after that and in some cases it has been months since I have received the feedback. They just say the tes
... See more
I am a freelance translator who is trying to get established again after having worked as in-house for some years and a break of 2 years for personal reasons.
In this period I have happened to complete some translation tests and I would like to bring up the question since I am very disappointed.
I have received positive feedbacks but I haven’t been assigned any translation jobs after that and in some cases it has been months since I have received the feedback. They just say the test is OK and that I will be entered in their database: but the aim of a test is to start a collaboration, isn’t it?
How come that you successfully complete translation tests and there’s no follow-up? This is happening again lately with two big and reknowned translation agencies and with two smaller ones. And all tests were done free of charge!
Have you had such an experience? What should I do? Call them? Ask them to assure a certain amount of work in case of positive feedback before doing the test?

Daniela
Collapse

Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:27
French to English
+ ...
In memoriam
It happens all the time Feb 5, 2008