Dr. Tilmann Kleinau  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:37
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
Mar 11, 2008

Dear all,
my name is Tilmann. I am a German native translator with 2.5 years experience as a freelance translator. Besides that, I sit in a wheelchair and need assistance all day long. I work from home because this has proved to be easier and more comfortable for me. I have found out that I can work as a freelance translator without any problem.
The reason I´m writing this post is that I want to offer my advice to colleagues with disabilities who want to start in the translation business, too.
So please don´t hesitate to e-mail me if you have any question or are interested in an exchange of experience. Go to my profile www.proz.com/profile/128202 and send me an e-mail.
Thank you,
Tilmann

Direct link Reply with quote

Alan R King
Basque to English
+ ...
I welcome discussion of this Mar 11, 2008

Dear Tilmann,

I am not a disabled translator, but I am a work-at-home translator, and my 22-year-old daughter (who is not a translator) is physically disabled and in a wheelchair.

From my own translating experience and my awareness of my daughter's physical limitations, I cannot think of any particular reason why such a person (with the required translation and computer skills, needless to say) should not manage to be a perfectly good professional in this line of work. In fact it could be a very good idea for some people as it requires less physical mobility than most jobs.