Notebooks with Dual View ?
Thread poster: Noe Tessmann
Noe Tessmann  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:44
English to German
+ ...
Jul 2, 2009

Dear colleagues,

I want to buy a new laptop. Now I am working with an external monitor to extend the desktop area and I want to continue like this. How can I be sure that the grapic card of a given laptop is capable of dual view. Sometimes it's written in the specifications but sometimes not. Or nowadadays every graphic card ist capable to do this?

How to know for example if ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 does the dual view.

Thanks in advance

Noe

Direct link Reply with quote

Eleni Makantani
Greece
Local time: 05:44
English to Greek
+ ...
Well, I'm not an expert... Jul 2, 2009

... but I would say that if a laptop has an external monitor connection port, then it should do the job. Of course, someone who knows better about these things could correct me...

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:44
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
I believe that all recent models Jul 2, 2009

are capable of dual view I haven't met yet notebook made after 2007 which does not offer this option.

BR
S

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
external monitor connection port is not enough Jul 2, 2009

Eleni Makantani wrote:

... but I would say that if a laptop has an external monitor connection port, then it should do the job.

Actually it is not enough because old laptops offered the same picture on both laptop's and external monitor - i.e. there was no possibility to "extend" the screen onto another monitor but I believe that all new models offer this option.

BR
S

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
French to Polish
+ ...
All modern stuff.. Jul 2, 2009

Noe Tessmann wrote: