https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/108172-seeking_advice_from_experienced_community_interpreters.html

Seeking advice from experienced community interpreters
Thread poster: Joanna Gałecka
Joanna Gałecka
Joanna Gałecka  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 00:15
English to Polish
+ ...
Jun 18, 2008

Hello!

I work as a community interpreter and I have found myself in a bit of a pickle recently. Since April I have been working for a certain agency. They have been giving me a fair amount of work, however their rates are poor as they don't pay travel time.

Although they are now my main source of income and I enjoy the work they give me, I would still like to work for other agencies (don't put all your eggs in one basket and all that). Yet, I find it almost impossible
... See more
Hello!

I work as a community interpreter and I have found myself in a bit of a pickle recently. Since April I have been working for a certain agency. They have been giving me a fair amount of work, however their rates are poor as they don't pay travel time.

Although they are now my main source of income and I enjoy the work they give me, I would still like to work for other agencies (don't put all your eggs in one basket and all that). Yet, I find it almost impossible as the aforementioned agency books me for work well in advance. I thus find myself turning down job after job from other agencies (not that they come that often but still) and it worries me that they will simply stop phoning. The way things are at the moment, I need more work/better paid work to make ends meet.

One of the private agencies recently advised me that they can't give me work in advance because their main clients - courts/the police - require their interpreters to have a DPSI, which currently I do not have. While I want to pick this up at some point in the future, it's a tad expensive just now. Besides, I'm not sure how much having the Diploma would actually change.