Multiple interpreters
Thread poster: Susanna Garcia

Susanna Garcia  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:59
Italian to English
+ ...
Jan 14, 2010

Hi. Has anyone ever interpreted in a case where there was more than one defendant and therefore more than one interpreter required, and also more than one language? If so, how does it actually work with respect to physical lay-out, logistics and interpreting method?
Suzi

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 23:59
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Simultaneous interpretation would be quite messy Jan 14, 2010

I am a certified public translator/interpreter for English in Brazil. I happen to speak other languages, but only for my personal use, not to a level that would allow me to translate anything.

Once there was a hearing where two foreign expert witnesses - one Italian and one German - were expected to testify. To save money, the organizers found out that both allegedly spoke English, and hired me.

Btw, I don't do simultaneous, only consecutive, which is the standard for legal procedures, not only for the sake of the records (audio recording), but also for some quality assurance by bilingual spectators who will be able to challenge any inaccuracies in translation.

Before it started, I was chatting in Italian with the Italian witness. He seemed rather concerned that I was only certified for English, that we wouldn't be allowed to do it in Italian. Well, when we got started, his English was not as fluent as expected, and he had a plane to catch immediately afterwards. As his statement was taking longer than expected, there was a consensus to let him do it in Spanish, which he spoke better than English, and is close enough to Portuguese (especially if spoken by a non-native) for well-educated Brazilians to understand. The agreement included me clearing any misunderstanding in English and translating into Portuguese. Rather messy, but it worked.