Help with a research on telephone interpreting
Thread poster: Luciana E. Lovatto
Luciana E. Lovatto
Luciana E. Lovatto  Identity Verified
Argentina
English to Spanish
Jun 17, 2010

Hi colleagues:
I am studying interpretation and I am doing a research on telephone interpreting. I would really appreciate if you could answer these questions in case you work as a telephone interpreter or you have information about this field. (I need this back by July, 1st. Please, send me your answers to [email protected] ).

1. Which are the tools (hardware or software) required to pr
... See more
Hi colleagues:
I am studying interpretation and I am doing a research on telephone interpreting. I would really appreciate if you could answer these questions in case you work as a telephone interpreter or you have information about this field. (I need this back by July, 1st. Please, send me your answers to [email protected] ).

1. Which are the tools (hardware or software) required to provide telephone interpreting?
2. Which are the disadvantages/advantages of telephone interpreting for the interpreter?
3. In which situations is this service required?
4. Do you charge per hour, day, individual projects, etc?

Thank you so much in advance,

Luciana Lovatto
Collapse

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 11:17
Romanian to English
+ ...
Hi Luciana, Jun 17, 2010

I do OPIs (over-the phone interpreting) and here are the short answers to your questions:
1. A good landlines telephone (try to avoid cell phones or wireless), a head set is a plus.
2. Adv.: stay at home, and work in your pajamas (or naked as it happened today when I got an important call while taking a shower...)
Disadv: A lot of background noise, you don't see the mimic or body motion of the talkers
Some agencies ask you to sign-in, therefore you must be glued to
... See more
I do OPIs (over-the phone interpreting) and here are the short answers to your questions: