Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
English mother-tongue conference interpreters of Oriental languages?
Thread poster: janthony (X)

janthony (X)

Local time: 01:09
English
+ ...
Jan 10, 2011

I have an unusual situation and I need some advice...

I am rowing a rather strange boat. I am an English-mother tongue translator of Arabic -- we are few and very far between, as are most... what you call, orientalists. In translation, I naturally work one direction, Arabic into English. However, I am considering pursuing a second career as a simultaneous interpreter.

My question.. or concern... comes in two parts:

1) Is it possible to make an at least
... See more
I have an unusual situation and I need some advice...

I am rowing a rather strange boat. I am an English-mother tongue translator of Arabic -- we are few and very far between, as are most... what you call, orientalists. In translation, I naturally work one direction, Arabic into English. However, I am considering pursuing a second career as a simultaneous interpreter.

My question.. or concern... comes in two parts:

1) Is it possible to make an at least part-time career of interpreting from Arabic exclusively into English? I can work from oral Standard Arabic (and at least three dialects) beautifully as a passive language, but not an active B language.
2) Do Western/European simultaneous interpreters of Oriental and African languages exist?

If European interpreters can get away with working from multiple languages into their native language... would it be too far fetched for a Western interpreter of an Eastern language like Arabic or Korean... to interpret from Arabic exclusively into English as well? We have an incredible advantage in that we are able to provide a very natural flowing dubbing so to speak free of accent yet filled with the nuances expected of cognitive native English speakers.