Does anybody know a good book of history of interpreting in Europe?
Thread poster: CLARA PINILLOS
CLARA PINILLOS
German to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 7, 2011

Hi everyone,

I'm a translation and interpreting student from Barcelona. I'm doing my dissertation about a comparison between masters in conference interpreting under the EMCI consorce and other masters offered by prestigious universities not linked to this consorce. I'm searching for a book or an author who writes about the history of interpreting in Europe, like the first training centres, etc.

Can anybody give me an advice??

Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Lina Elhage-Mensching  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:35
Member (2007)
English to French
+ ...
This publication might help you Jun 7, 2011

Hello, maybe you could read

"Les traducteurs dans l'histoire" published by Les presses de l'université d'Ottawa, sous la direction de Jean Delisle et Judith Woodsworth.

You could also browse through the AIIC website and find some interesting articles there.

All the best

Lina

Marina Khonina  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 05:35
Russian to English
+ ...
Interpreting for Europe Jun 8, 2011

Hi Clara,

I suggest you post your question on Interpreting for Europe, the official Facebook page of the EU Interpreting Service: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Interpreting-for-Europe/173122606407

Perhaps, some of their readers will be able to direct you to relevant sources.

Good luck!

natalykelly

Local time: 21:35
English to Spanish
+ ...
Interpreters as Diplomats by Ruth Roland Jul 4, 2011

Hello! One excellent book for your question is "Interpreters as Diplomats" by Ruth Roland. It focuses mainly on interpreting in diplomatic settings, but may be helpful.

Here is a link to the publisher's page for the book:
http://www.erudit.org/revue/ttr/2002/v15/n1/006810ar.pdf

It is an excellent text.