Thread poster: yukatera
yukatera
yukatera
United States
Local time: 23:42
Japanese to English
+ ...
Aug 30, 2013

I would like to know what the current market rate for over the phone interpreters.
This is my first time looking for "phone interpreting" job (I have done translating and on site interpreting at meetings and such), and don't really have a good idea of what to expect.

Do you usually pay for your land lines yourself or does agencies compensate you for that? Is there alternative "land phone line" without actually getting one, like skype?

Should I expect "occupied" ra
... See more
I would like to know what the current market rate for over the phone interpreters.
This is my first time looking for "phone interpreting" job (I have done translating and on site interpreting at meetings and such), and don't really have a good idea of what to expect.

Do you usually pay for your land lines yourself or does agencies compensate you for that? Is there alternative "land phone line" without actually getting one, like skype?

Should I expect "occupied" rate?

Lastly, if there is any tip or things I need to be aware of please let me know! Especially tips on how to choose a reliable agencies!!!!

Thanks,

[2013-08-30 19:21 GMTに編集されました]
Collapse

Mark Thompson
Mark Thompson  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 03:42
Portuguese to English
Welcome to the forum Aug 30, 2013

Hello!

My name is Mark, and I am one of the moderators of this forum.

I see this is your first time posting a topic on the forum. If you need any help with forum or site use, please feel free to contact me.

Best regards,

Mark

Srini Venkataraman
Srini Venkataraman
United States
Local time: 01:42
Member (2012)
Tamil to English
+ ...
Welcome Home Aug 30, 2013

Interpreting is an exciting field. When the phone rings, adrenaline starts pumping and I am curious as to what language this time and what scenario. ( I handle 3 languages, though I speak 6 languages)