Advice needed for a starting interpreter
Thread poster: PaczOla
PaczOla
PaczOla
United Kingdom
Jan 17, 2014

I'd like to become an interpreter. At the end of this month I am going to start Community Interpreting Course Level 3 and once I complete it, I'll sign up with a few interpreting agencies to get some experience. In time I would like to develop my interpreting skills and become a real professional in this field. If everything goes smoothly and I enjoy this career I would like to get a Master degree in order to be taken seriously with more advanced assignments. I have a degree in Public Relations.... See more
I'd like to become an interpreter. At the end of this month I am going to start Community Interpreting Course Level 3 and once I complete it, I'll sign up with a few interpreting agencies to get some experience. In time I would like to develop my interpreting skills and become a real professional in this field. If everything goes smoothly and I enjoy this career I would like to get a Master degree in order to be taken seriously with more advanced assignments. I have a degree in Public Relations. Would I still have to get a Diploma in Public Service Interpreting in order to be accepted onto a Master's course? Qualified interpreters out there, could you tell me how difficult is it in this industry? What are the biggest challenges? Do you get many assignments per week? How much do you earn per month? Any other advice for a starting interpreter would be much appreciatedCollapse

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:42
Russian to English
+ ...
You don't need Master's Degree in interpreting, unless Jan 19, 2014