https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/265834-voluntary_work_as_an_interpreter.html

voluntary work as an interpreter
Thread poster: Beatrice Borio
Beatrice Borio
Beatrice Borio  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 05:26
German to Italian
+ ...
Mar 11, 2014

Hello,
I am a second-year student of conference interpreting in Trieste, Italy and I'd like to start doing some voluntary work as a liason or conference interpreter, in order to get some practice in real life. I really don't know where to start though - as far as I know, voluntary work is usually required by non-profit organizations which don't advertise much, so one usually has to be part of the organization to know about its interpreting needs. But I can't become part of all non-profit
... See more
Hello,
I am a second-year student of conference interpreting in Trieste, Italy and I'd like to start doing some voluntary work as a liason or conference interpreter, in order to get some practice in real life. I really don't know where to start though - as far as I know, voluntary work is usually required by non-profit organizations which don't advertise much, so one usually has to be part of the organization to know about its interpreting needs. But I can't become part of all non-profit organisations in the world in order to get some useful contacts
So what do you think are the first steps to finding this kind of voluntary work?
Thank you very much ^^
Beatrice
Collapse

Tim Friese
Tim Friese  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:26
Member (2013)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Medical / Legal / Immigration Mar 12, 2014

Hi Beatrice,