https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/271105-conference_interpreting_questions_english_a.html

Conference interpreting questions (English A)
Thread poster: theplotchickens
theplotchickens
theplotchickens
Netherlands
Jun 23, 2014

Hi everyone! This might be a bit long-winded, so please stay with me.

I have been a freelance translator/interpreter for quite a while now and have always considered conference interpreting a possible career. As far as my educational background goes, I have an LLB in Global Law and an LLM in European Public Law from Tilburg University. I live in the Netherlands and I work from Italian, Spanish and French into English in a variety of fields; I specifically chose a law degree because
... See more
Hi everyone! This might be a bit long-winded, so please stay with me.

I have been a freelance translator/interpreter for quite a while now and have always considered conference interpreting a possible career. As far as my educational background goes, I have an LLB in Global Law and an LLM in European Public Law from Tilburg University. I live in the Netherlands and I work from Italian, Spanish and French into English in a variety of fields; I specifically chose a law degree because working in an institution is very appealing to me. English is my native language.

I have a few questions, namely regarding both my language combination and where I could study conference interpreting.

Language Combination

ENGLISH A

ITALIAN C (I believe that this may actually be a B language. I often work from English into Italian; I have dual Italian citizenship, have lived, worked and studied in Italy and am equally as comfortable speaking and writing Italian in a number of registers and contexts from the most informal to the most formal)

SPANISH C

FRENCH C

DUTCH C/GERMAN C?