https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/281909-working_as_a_legal_interpreter_in_the_us.html

Working as a legal interpreter in the US
Thread poster: mcsuaare
mcsuaare
mcsuaare
Spain
Feb 16, 2015

Dear colleagues,

Before I pose the question to you I'd like to give you a brief summary of my background.

I studied translation and interpreting for 5 years in Spain and received a Master's degree last year in Intercultural Communication, Public Service Interpreting and Translation. I have no experience working as an interpreter, but as far as I see it I have preparation from my career. That being said, I have a lot of experience with Translation.

This af
... See more
Dear colleagues,

Before I pose the question to you I'd like to give you a brief summary of my background.

I studied translation and interpreting for 5 years in Spain and received a Master's degree last year in Intercultural Communication, Public Service Interpreting and Translation. I have no experience working as an interpreter, but as far as I see it I have preparation from my career. That being said, I have a lot of experience with Translation.

This afternoon, I was contacted by a US interpreting agency requiring my services as an interpreter for EnglishSpanish in the legal field. One of the questions they asked me was about my rate. Honestly, I am quite doubtful about the rate I should charge.

I would be incredibly grateful if you could provide me some professional information and advice.

Carmen
Collapse

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 23:57
Romanian to English
+ ...
Dear Carmen, Feb 17, 2015

In order to get a helpful answer, you need to provide us more information. What kind of interpreting service is required (court, discovery, settlement, deposition, conference, consecutive, simultaneous etc.)
In order to interpret in local, state or federal courts you need to be registered as a court interpreter, and in your case, as a Spanish interpreter, you need to be certified.