Thread poster: Yaiza Cañizares (X)
Yaiza Cañizares (X)
Yaiza Cañizares (X)
Spain
Local time: 06:50
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 19, 2016

Hello everyone! I'm new in Proz.com I'm currently finishing my BA in English Translation and I've already been offered my first job as a En>Sp interpreter for a conference. That's why I have some doubts:

- are interpreters paid by hour or by day?
- which is the minimum that a interpreter should be paid?
- if the conference takes place in another city/country, are interpreters paid for the trip, food and a
... See more
Hello everyone! I'm new in Proz.com I'm currently finishing my BA in English Translation and I've already been offered my first job as a En>Sp interpreter for a conference. That's why I have some doubts:

- are interpreters paid by hour or by day?
- which is the minimum that a interpreter should be paid?
- if the conference takes place in another city/country, are interpreters paid for the trip, food and accommodation?

Thank you in advance for the information!
Yaizy
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 07:50
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Consecutive or Simultaneous? Jan 20, 2016

Dear Yaizy,

Welcome to ProZ. My first question would be: is the interpretation consecutive or simultaneous? My guess is that it is a simultaneous interpretation since it is a conference. You know the two are very different. Accordingly, the fees differ depending on which one.

There is a section of ProZ called the Community Rates, which is under the Tools menu. You might find that helpful regarding the rates.

If the conference takes place in another lo
... See more
Dear Yaizy,

Welcome to ProZ. My first question would be: is the interpretation consecutive or simultaneous? My guess is that it is a simultaneous interpretation since it is a conference. You know the two are very different. Accordingly, the fees differ depending on which one.