Looking for a site that has speeches in French and Spanish to get my interpreting level back up
Thread poster: Paul Lambert

Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:27
French to English
+ ...
Jun 20, 2005

Hi everyone,

Just a quickie I'm hoping someone can help me with. I used to do a bit of interpreting on a very casual basis after I graduated, and am wanting to brush up my skills again.

I remember at university we had an endless supply of speeches on tape in the language labs, and we used to sit and interpret there every day to finely tune our interpreting skills.

This is really what I feel I need to do now, as my simultaneous interpreting is highly rusty now, but I obviously don't have my university language lab to fall back on. Ideally, I am looking for a site that has speeches in French and Spanish that I can listen to in real player, and thereby get m interpreting level up to working standards again.

If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated! I do sight-translation every now and then, but it doesn't quite catch the feel of listening to a speech while concentrating on interpeting - the bit I'm most rusty on!!!!

Thanks!

Paul

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-06-21 21:06]

Direct link Reply with quote

Aleksandra Kwasnik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:27
Polish to German
+ ...
Europe by Satellite Jun 20, 2005

Something like this?

http://europa.eu.int/comm/ebs/mp3_en.cfm

A.

Javier Herrera
Spanish
... Jun 20, 2005

Audio: http://www.un.org/Depts/OHRM/examin/audiosam/ri-sam.htm
I know there's loads more in the UN website, but not necessarily in audio. If the link I provided is not enough (you soon get tired of your old speeches!) it's always a good idea to sight translate and/or record yourself reading for future interpretation.
HTH
Javier

Pat Jenner
Local time: 22:27
German to English
+ ...
Could you find someone else in the same position? Jun 21, 2005