How faithful are you to the original sentence?
Thread poster: 952313 (X)
 952313 (X)
952313 (X)

Local time: 10:48
English to Japanese
+ ...
Oct 25, 2008

Hi, I'm new to ProZ but have been a document translator (English-Japanese, both directions) for about 6 years. Before, I was a conference interpreter.

I just wanted to ask you this question because I recently went to a T&I ethics workshop. The code of ethics tells you to be as faithful as possible to the original document/speech. You are not to add, alter, or omit anything.

Now, I've always felt that Japanese and English are too far apart and it is virtually impossib
... See more
Hi, I'm new to ProZ but have been a document translator (English-Japanese, both directions) for about 6 years. Before, I was a conference interpreter.

I just wanted to ask you this question because I recently went to a T&I ethics workshop. The code of ethics tells you to be as faithful as possible to the original document/speech. You are not to add, alter, or omit anything.