\"Edit gloss\" button does nothing
Thread poster: Jack Doughty

Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:51
Member (2000)
Russian to English
+ ...
Apr 26, 2003

Click on the \"Edit gloss\" button and it takes you to a page on which there is no facility for editing the glossary. This is the same in both the old and new designs.

 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:51
English to German
+ ...
Moderator function Apr 26, 2003

Hi Jack,

I believe you\'re referring to the \"Edit gloss\" link in KudoZ questions: this is available to moderators only.


If you believe an entry should be changed, please drop a line to the moderator(s) for the language pair concerned.


Best regards, Ralf


 

Trudy Peters  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:51
German to English
+ ...
Ralf, Apr 26, 2003

Why can\'t the \"edit gloss\" feature be reinstated? I\'m always sending notices to people to correct the spelling in a gloss entry, etc. etc. Why aren\'t we allowed to do this without bothering moderators?


Didn\'t Henry promise to reinstate it, at least for Platinum members, IIRC?


Trudy


 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:51
English to German
+ ...
FTTB it's mods only Apr 26, 2003

Hi Trudy,

Quote:


On 2003-04-26 17:33, Trudy wrote:

Why can\'t the \"edit gloss\" feature be reinstated? I\'m always sending notices to people to correct the spelling in a gloss entry, etc. etc. Why aren\'t we allowed to do this without bothering moderators?



You\'re not bothering moderators at all when you ask them to correct a glossary entry. Thing is, we\'ve had cases of significant controversy over glossary entries (along the lines of: \"How dare you change my glossary entry?\"), which is why, at least for the time being, the function is restricted to moderators only.


Quote:


Didn\'t Henry promise to reinstate it, at least for Platinum members, IIRC?



I recall the thread you\'re referring to. Since then, we\'ve had quite a few discussions about this - presently, the majority of language pair moderators prefers that the editing function should remain restricted (even if it means a little extra work).


Note that this doesn\'t mean it\'s going to stay like this forever - but we feel some more functional changes are required before \"re-opening\" the function.


Best regards, Ralf


 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

\"Edit gloss\" button does nothing

Advanced search






Protemos translation business management system
Create your account in minutes, and start working! 3-month trial for agencies, and free for freelancers!

The system lets you keep client/vendor database, with contacts and rates, manage projects and assign jobs to vendors, issue invoices, track payments, store and manage project files, generate business reports on turnover profit per client/manager etc.

More info »
memoQ translator pro
Kilgray's memoQ is the world's fastest developing integrated localization & translation environment rendering you more productive and efficient.

With our advanced file filters, unlimited language and advanced file support, memoQ translator pro has been designed for translators and reviewers who work on their own, with other translators or in team-based translation projects.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search