Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Kudoz "disagree" comment effect
Thread poster: Jose Toro

Jose Toro
Local time: 22:10
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 21, 2009

I am new at Proz, and started to contribute with translations of terms. I replied to a request where there were no previous answers. Pretty soon a colleague offered his own translation, but additionally entered a "disagree" comment in my posting; as I found out, that had the byproduct of also subtracting one point from my "score". I replied to the comment by giving my reasoning for the choice of term, still granting the possibility that the other colleague may be right, because many times it is the context that defines the "correct" answer, and ultimately it is the asker who decides this.

I am not familiar with Kudoz points, but I assume they represent some advantage for the contributor, especially if the original asker has not rejected my reply. I would think that under normal circumstances, if a member wants to post his contribution, he should provide it as such, without additionally subtracting a point from another contributor, unless a clear reasoning is given against the other's choice, which was not the case.

I won't make a big deal about this, but I think it warrants some clarification about the rules, which I kindly request here.

Greetings,

José
Tektrans

Direct link Reply with quote

Angela Dickson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:10
French to English
+ ...
how it works Oct 21, 2009

The asker is free to award the points to any answerer, regardless of how many agrees/disagrees the answer gets. If someone disagrees with you it is reasonable to expect them to give a reason, and if you don't agree with the reason then it's acceptable to argue your case.

The "4-1" or "5+3" (etc) that you see next to the names of the answerers are not a "score" and are not Kudoz points - in each case they are the sum of the answerer's confidence level plus the net agrees/disagrees.