Receiving Kudoz mails of questions in languages you don't translate in, possible?
Thread poster: Ellis Jongsma
Ellis Jongsma  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 15:22
Member (2006)
English to Dutch
Oct 13, 2011

Strange question, it might seem. So let me explain.

I've been studying a certain language for a few years now and I would like to become more pro-active when it comes to thinking about translation into or out of this language. However, I have no intention of replying to these questions, because my knowledge is not (yet) comprehensive enough. So it's really only for educational purposes and to challenge myself a bit more.

So is it possible to receive mails of questions asked for Kudoz in a language that is not displayed on your profile? If yes, how?

Direct link Reply with quote

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
2 steps Oct 13, 2011

There are 2 steps:
1. Add the new language to your profile under settings>languages>add new pair.
Make sure you mark it as "I only have an interest in this pair. Do not show it in my profile". Save the changes.
2. Then go to Kudoz notification settings http://www.proz.com/dashboard?sp_mode=kudoz scroll to the bottom and edit the new language pair as you wish.

Ellis Jongsma  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Dutch
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Oct 13, 2011

Thanks a lot!

Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
You can also choose to receive a 'daily digest' Oct 13, 2011

Instead of receiving mails immediately when the questions are asked, or in addition if you like, you can click the option for a 'daily digest'.