KudoZ answers made invisible
Thread poster: Casey Butterfield

Casey Butterfield  Identity Verified
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 23, 2004

I made a creative non-native suggestion into Spanish and accidentally put a confidence level higher than what I actually felt.

I came back to look at the question today and noticed that my answer has been made invisible.

I am not sure if I merely hid the question and forgot about it, or if the asker actually made my answer invisible (with absolutely no explanation, which I consider to be somewhat rude).

I would appreciate some clarification as to how often this happens/why it happens/if there are any existing threads on this topic.

Thanks!


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Magda Dziadosz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 10:23
Member (2004)
English to Polish
+ ...
Contact the moderator May 23, 2004

Hi Casey,

The best way to resolve this problem is to contact the moderator using the link at the bottom of the page with KudoZ question.

I don't think askers are able to made an answer invisible - it could be either you or a moderator, but the moderator most likely would send you a note informing why the answer was hidden. In any case, the moderator can un-hide your answer.

HTH

Magda


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Claudia Iglesias  Identity Verified
Chile
Local time: 06:23
Member (2002)
Spanish to French
+ ...
Hi Casey May 23, 2004

I think you hid your answer accidentally.
You're the only one (with the moderators) who can hide your answers. Whenever a moderator does hide one of your questions, he'll inform you.

I just made it visible again, it was platform, wasn't it?

Claudia


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Casey Butterfield  Identity Verified
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
different q, actually May 23, 2004

Claudia Iglesias wrote:

I think you hid your answer accidentally.
You're the only one (with the moderators) who can hide your answers. Whenever a moderator does hide one of your questions, he'll inform you.

I just made it visible again, it was platform, wasn't it?

Claudia


Cheers for the responses; it was actually the question on "from tenure track to hired guns" -- the platform one I hid today, as it was not actually on track for the answer.

I wanted to have my confidence level reduced to 4 on "from tenure track to hired guns" answer -- I probably just hid it intending to repost it later with the reduced confidence level, and must have forgotten! Thanks for the information, and if you could repost my answer with the reduced confidence level I'd be grateful.

[Edited at 2004-05-23 19:16]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Claudia Iglesias  Identity Verified
Chile
Local time: 06:23
Member (2002)
Spanish to French
+ ...
Oups, corrected now May 23, 2004

OK, I hid again that one.

You're the only one who can chose and decide for your confidence level, so the best is to post again the answer with another confidence level. I just sent a copy of your answer to you.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Casey Butterfield  Identity Verified
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I have now fixed it May 23, 2004

Muy agradecida Claudia

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Casey Butterfield  Identity Verified
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
New feature suggestion? May 23, 2004

All of this does beg for the inclusion of an "unhide" option on answers hidden by accident; is this possible?

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Sol  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:23
Spanish to English
+ ...
Another new feature suggestion... May 24, 2004

Casey Butterfield wrote:
All of this does beg for the inclusion of an "unhide" option on answers hidden by accident; is this possible?


What about a way to change one's confidence level? Sometimes I have given answers with a confidence of say, 3, because there was not enough information in the question, but then the Asker adds information and my confidence changes: sometimes up, sometimes down, and sometimes enough that it makes my answer inappropiate, in which case I hide it (and give a new answer if I know it).


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

KudoZ answers made invisible

Advanced search






SDL Trados Studio 2017 Freelance
The leading translation software used by over 250,000 translators.

SDL Trados Studio 2017 helps translators increase translation productivity whilst ensuring quality. Combining translation memory, terminology management and machine translation in one simple and easy-to-use environment.

More info »
memoQ translator pro
Kilgray's memoQ is the world's fastest developing integrated localization & translation environment rendering you more productive and efficient.

With our advanced file filters, unlimited language and advanced file support, memoQ translator pro has been designed for translators and reviewers who work on their own, with other translators or in team-based translation projects.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search