Thread poster: Olga Cuzmanov

Olga Cuzmanov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:10
Member (2013)
English to Romanian
+ ...
Sep 8, 2013

I am new to ProZ and I am curious how are KudoZ rules of asking enforced? In particular I am referring to rule 2.1 on the Guidelines for "asking". Here is the language:

"2.1 (Guideline): "Help" KudoZ should be used for requesting terms help only after other resources have been exhausted. Resources available include the KudoZ archives (KudoZ > ProZ.com Term Search from the main menu), dictionaries, search engines, etc. If translations are found elsewhere and the decision to post a KudoZ question is made nevertheless, information found elsewhere should be included, along with an explanation of what further information is sought."

When it is obvious that someone is abusing this feature what are we supposed to do?

If you have any advise please let me know. Thank you, Olga

PS Also, I have a question for the translators who are offering their help. How is it different "helping" a lazy KudoZ user, or I should say "abuser" different from working for TermWiki who is paying an outrageous 0.01 cents per word (they call it "token") after translating 1000 or 5000 terms?

Chiara Deaglio
Local time: 01:10
English to Italian
+ ...
you are 100% right Sep 8, 2013

The rule you quoted is not enforced, as far as I am aware, and the KudoZ abusers are free to post whatever question they like, no matter how obvious or easy.

As regards the KudoZ points hunters, I bet that many of them decry the ridiculous pay offered by TermWiki for providing terminologic answers (0.01 per word), while being eager to work for free on KudoZ...

United States
Member (2013)
English to Romanian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
My bad Sep 8, 2013

I posted my question in the wrong forum, so now that I am in the right place I have been reading other posts and it appears to me that I am not alone in raising this issue.