Thread poster: Alessia Scipione
Alessia Scipione
Alessia Scipione  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:31
English to Italian
+ ...
Mar 8, 2012

Hello fellow colleagues,

I am a qualified translator (English>Italian) currently taking an MA in Audiovisual Translation.
One of the topic for my next assignment (although it might sound weird) it is to translate 5 words taken out from a legal contract and write an essay motivating my Italian translation of the terms supporting my translated terminology choice with online researched sources and websites.
Those web sources have to be highly professional and trustable. <
... See more
Hello fellow colleagues,

I am a qualified translator (English>Italian) currently taking an MA in Audiovisual Translation.
One of the topic for my next assignment (although it might sound weird) it is to translate 5 words taken out from a legal contract and write an essay motivating my Italian translation of the terms supporting my translated terminology choice with online researched sources and websites.
Those web sources have to be highly professional and trustable.
Since I am not a legal translator I was wondering if any of you specialized in the legal field can advice me of good online dictionaries, web pages and legal content I can use to support my translation and to help me write my assignment. The websites and dictionaries have to refer to the following language combination: English>Italian.
Websites of trusted legal English terminology explanation with examples would also help.
Could you help me out?
Many thanks in advance.
Best regards,

Alessia
Collapse

Buck
Buck
Netherlands
Dutch to English
Use the Internet Mar 9, 2012

I'm not being critical, but you do have access to the Internet. The European Court of Justice's website is available in all Member State languages and is an excellent source of terminology. You might also try eurlex.eu, which contains all EU directives, regulations, conventions, etc.

Alessia Scipione
English to Italian