Off topic: Translation EN>EN of scientific sentences
Thread poster: RNAtranslator
RNAtranslator
RNAtranslator  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 10, 2008

Are you interested in translation of scientific texts? As a former scientist, I can teach you a little. Let's begin with something easy: EN>EN translation:

"It has long been known"... I didn't look up the original reference.

"A definite trend is evident"... These data are practically meaningless.

"While it has not been possible to provide definite answers to the questions"... An unsuccessful experiment, but I still hope to get it published.

... See more
Are you interested in translation of scientific texts? As a former scientist, I can teach you a little. Let's begin with something easy: EN>EN translation:

"It has long been known"... I didn't look up the original reference.

"A definite trend is evident"... These data are practically meaningless.

"While it has not been possible to provide definite answers to the questions"... An unsuccessful experiment, but I still hope to get it published.

"Three of the samples were chosen for detailed study"... The other results didn't make any sense.

"Typical results are shown"... This is the prettiest graph.

"These results will be in a subsequent report"... I might get around to this sometime, if pushed/funded.

"In my experience"... once

"In case after case"... twice

"In a series of cases"... thrice

"It is believed that"... I think.

"It is generally believed that"... A couple of others think so, too.

"Correct within an order of magnitude"... Wrong.

"According to statistical analysis"... Rumor has it.

"A statistically oriented projection of the significance of these findings"... A wild guess.

"A careful analysis of obtainable data"... Three pages of notes were obliterated when I knocked over a glass of pop.