https://www.proz.com/forum/linguistic_diversity/81199-managing_linguistic_diversity.html

Managing linguistic diversity
Thread poster: Deschant
Deschant
Deschant
Local time: 02:51
Aug 13, 2007

Years ago, I studied at high school the four possible models of linguistic policy which a country (=state) may apply, in regard to the officiality or co-officiality of 1 or several languages:

-Monolingualism. This is self-explanatory: one language which is the only official language of the whole territory of the country. For example - France. Rather than a model for managing linguistic diversity, it could be said that this model actually ignores linguistic diversity.

-T
... See more
Years ago, I studied at high school the four possible models of linguistic policy which a country (=state) may apply, in regard to the officiality or co-officiality of 1 or several languages:

-Monolingualism. This is self-explanatory: one language which is the only official language of the whole territory of the country. For example - France. Rather than a model for managing linguistic diversity, it could be said that this model actually ignores linguistic diversity.

-Two languages (A, B) official in the whole territory of the country. This is the case of Ireland, with English and Gaelic being co-official.

-One "A" language official in the whole territory, with other or other languages (B, C, D...) co-official in certain regions of it. For example, Spanish is an official language in the whole territory of Spain, but some regions have a co-official language as well (Galician in Galicia, Catalan-Valencian in Catalonia, Comunidad Valenciana and the Baleares, and Basque in Euskadi and Navarra).

-The territory is divided in two or more regions and each region has only one official language. This is the case of Switzerland (though there are some cities, such as Biel, which are officially bilingual).