Thread poster: OlafK
OlafK
OlafK
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:19
English to German
+ ...
Oct 22, 2008

I started studying Spanish a little while ago, therefore I have a beginner's question. There seem to be some verbs in Spanish that can be reflexive or not without changing their meaning, two examples:
morir- morirse, venir - venirse

Or is there a difference and I just don't get it? I could never get a satisfactory answer out of my teachers.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Guillermo de la Puerta
Guillermo de la Puerta  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:19
German to Spanish
+ ...
Almost no differences but... Oct 22, 2008

Theoretically there are almost no differences.

When you mean just die, you can use both.
Some slight differences: morirse sounds a bit more coloquial than morir.
In books and newspapers is more common to read "morir".

Morirse ( por algo) can also mean to have a very strong wish of something. For ex. Me muero por los helados ( I "die" for ice creams).

When the death is violent according to the Real Academia always use "morir"

As fo
... See more
Theoretically there are almost no differences.

When you mean just die, you can use both.
Some slight differences: morirse sounds a bit more coloquial than morir.
In books and newspapers is more common to read "morir".

Morirse ( por algo) can also mean to have a very strong wish of something. For ex. Me muero por los helados ( I "die" for ice creams).

When the death is violent according to the Real Academia always use "morir"

As for venir or venirse no difference but I think venirse is a bit more coloquial.

Greetings willdlp
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
"No es lo mismo estar jodido que estar jodiendo" Oct 22, 2008

("Not the same to be fucked than to be fucking")