Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Differences in the way Russian native speakers describe colored objects vs. English native speakers
Thread poster: dsurfingmark
dsurfingmark
Local time: 07:45
Russian to English
Jan 10, 2013

Hello,

My name is Mark, and I am studying psycholinguistics. I was recently thinking about how language affects thought. In Russian, eyes are usually described as "grey," "brown," or "green." "Blue" eyes are usually reserved for those who have really blue eyes. However, in English, we would usually lump "blue" and "grey" into just "blue" for eye color.

My question is, are there other words that are described with different colors between the two languages? If there are any bilingual speakers out there with some examples, please post! Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Coesel  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 13:45
Member (2012)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Too many differences to mention Jan 10, 2013

Hi Mark,

Good point you have there. As each language and culture has it's peculiarities, so does Russian. In my opinion, being bilingual, Russian is a very rich yet not too complex language and comprises of many, many more words, verbs and expressions than English does. Therefore Russians tend to be a lot more detailed and specific about whatever they are talking about. Simply because they have the words to do so. Since most Russians have a very high educational degree, they are able to make use of that as well.
I find it a beautiful language and applaud what they can describe in their language, but what I am unable to translate into any western language without loosing its "touch".
Furthermore, Russians have an exceptional knowledge on war and history and they love to talk about those subjects, so also from a cultural point of view they really do talk about different subjects than we do.
I could go on and on

Hope this helps. Feel free to contact.

All the best,
Nicole.

dsurfingmark
Russian to English
TOPIC STARTER