gender inclusive English - help needed!
Thread poster: basiek
basiek
English
Oct 13, 2005

Hello
I am a student of English in Poland and I could use some help collecting data on the use of gender inclusive English for my MA thesis.
I've prepared a questionnaire and posted it at http://www.ghnet.pl/~mjmth/questionnaire.rtf
if anyone could find some time to fill it out I would be extremely grateful
all the details and instructions are included in the rtf file
if anyone is willing to help please email the filled out questionnaire to basiek@poczta.fm
Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 05:40
German to English
Gender inclusive English Oct 13, 2005

Hello basiek,

You've prepared an excellent questionnaire that gets to the heart of the problem: how to produce well-written English and at the same time meet the expectations readers have today regarding gender inclusiveness. This is a real challenge for good writers.

Select a pronoun/ pronouns you would use in the following sentences.

1. A teacher is obliged to supervise ……………….. students.
a) his
b) her
c) his or her
d) their

The problem I have with your questionnaire is that I can't select a pronoun from your list. I would take a different approach: in most cases I would opt for changing the singular noun to a plural noun.

Teachers are obliged to supervise their students.

Kim

Marijke Singer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:40
Dutch to English
+ ...
Plural Oct 14, 2005

I would to the same as Kim if at all possible.

I agree with Kim Oct 14, 2005

[quote]basiek wrote:

I have also see (used when absolutely necessary) "his/her" - another option.

fahmnad
Local time: 13:40
English to French
Plural pronoun + singular noun Oct 14, 2005

Hello !