Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Question: Can you speak six or more languages?
Thread poster: carlywatt
carlywatt
carlywatt
English
Sep 13, 2007

If yes, I would like to speak to you!

My name is Carly Watt, I'm a Ryerson University student and I need your help for my Media Communications class.

I'm looking for someone who speaks six or more languages to interview about how they learned their languages, the benefits to knowing the languages, family life etc.

Any information at all would be extremely helpful!

Thank you in advance...
See more

My name is Carly Watt, I'm a Ryerson University student and I need your help for my Media Communications class.

I'm looking for someone who speaks six or more languages to interview about how they learned their languages, the benefits to knowing the languages, family life etc.

Thank you in advance
Collapse

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 00:23
English to Dutch
+ ...
Define level of proficiency Sep 13, 2007

Dear Carly,

I think it would be helpful if you could explain what you mean by 'speaking' a language.

I personally learned eleven languages (in varying levels of education and proficiency), but I'd say I can really speak two or three languages and have passive knowledge of four or five languages that could be made active if I really wanted to. The other languages I would have to learn anew if I ever wanted to really use them again. None of them besides Dutch are 'native
... See more
Dear Carly,

I think it would be helpful if you could explain what you mean by 'speaking' a language.