https://www.proz.com/forum/literature_poetry/163715-would_you_mind_answering_a_quick_questionnaire.html

Would you mind answering a quick questionnaire?
Thread poster: billyg
Apr 27, 2010

Hi, I am doing a thesis on Emily Dickinson's poetry. I am trying to compare and contrast some translation strategies for poetry and specifically for Emily Dickinson. Please, just answer these questions:
(My translation is from English into Spanish)

1.- What translation strategy/theory do you apply for poetry translation?

2.- What element is more important to keep in poetry translation? (rhyme, meter, length...)

3.- What is your criteria to judge
... See more
Hi, I am doing a thesis on Emily Dickinson's poetry. I am trying to compare and contrast some translation strategies for poetry and specifically for Emily Dickinson. Please, just answer these questions:
(My translation is from English into Spanish)

1.- What translation strategy/theory do you apply for poetry translation?

2.- What element is more important to keep in poetry translation? (rhyme, meter, length...)

3.- What is your criteria to judge a good translation in poetry area?

4.- What are the main difficulties you have encountered?

5.- What is your own general strategy?

6.- How do you think it is translating Emily Dickinson different from other poets?

7.- How possible/impossible you think poetry translation is?

I would very much appreciate your answers and contributions. I won't forget to thank you in my final paper.
Collapse

Natalia Betiana Manfredi
Natalia Betiana Manfredi
Argentina
Local time: 00:12
English to Spanish
translation of poetry Apr 29, 2010

Dear friend,
I will try to answer some of the questions. They are not easy!
1) I guess I do not apply any sort of theory or strategy.
2) The most important element, for me, is rhyme.