Thread poster: Florence Lesur

Florence Lesur  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:21
English to French
+ ...
Feb 11, 2010

Hey all,

After several years working as a translator, I eventually got down to creating my own Website.
As my profile will say, I work from English to French and Russian to French, and designed my site in those 3 languages.

I am quite fluent in English, but feel uncomfortable writing in Russian (call me the perfectionist), so a friend of mine translated the page into Russian (thanks Albena!).

My intent with this message is two-fold:

- Would some native English and Russian speakers be so kind as to check the site for mistakes, info that should be there, odd stuff and things that no one would say in [put your native language here]? (Send your comments directly to me, unless you think it might spark some interesting debate.)

- What do you think about translators who have a good passive knowledge of their source language, but don't master them enough on the active side?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Florence
http://www.florence-lesur-traduction.com

Direct link Reply with quote

Noni Gilbert
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Typo in English Feb 11, 2010

Rigour!

Sabine Akabayov, PhD
Israel
Local time: 10:21
Member (2011)
English to German
+ ...
passive knowledge Feb 11, 2010

I guess it would depend on the subject of the text if passive knowledge is enough to deliver a (very) good translation. Translating technical texts would be fine, but other texts like marketing, literature etc. require the knowledge of very small nuances in the language which can only be recognized when actively using that language (IMHO).