Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Opinion regarding non-degree translators in proz
Thread poster: Dimitris Papageorgiou
Dimitris Papageorgiou
Dimitris Papageorgiou  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:20
English to Greek
Mar 26, 2010

I became a member in proz a month ago. I do not have a translator degree. The only "asset" i have that might be useful is that i studied business administration in an English speaking academic institution for 5 years.
I believe my English are good(at least in some fields), but.....

What i have noticed so far is that the level of translators in proz is very high(credential, many-years experience, relevant studies....). I think proz is aimed mostly to these professionals.
... See more
I became a member in proz a month ago. I do not have a translator degree. The only "asset" i have that might be useful is that i studied business administration in an English speaking academic institution for 5 years.
I believe my English are good(at least in some fields), but.....

What i have noticed so far is that the level of translators in proz is very high(credential, many-years experience, relevant studies....). I think proz is aimed mostly to these professionals.

I am considering to ask for a refund because it is difficult to compete in such a basis. It is not worth paying-at least for me. It is difficult to have ROI having the above in mind.
Being a simple member will suffice for now.

I do not say that there is no market for people like me,i am just saying proz is not the one.

Of course i will not abandon my efforts(i am considering my next moves),-neither will i ask for a refund today-i am just describing to you my impressions.

What is your opinion.
Collapse

Harry Heijkoop
Harry Heijkoop  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:20
Member (2006)
English to Dutch
+ ...
On the contrary Mar 26, 2010

when I became a member of Proz, I did not have any degree in translation either - still haven't. I did have several years of experience.