Marketing yourself with an online portfolio - feedback on copyright needed
Thread poster: Karine Larcher

Karine Larcher
France
English to French
Aug 28, 2012

Hello fellow translators,
Being fairly new to translation as a freelancer, I am currently working on my various online profiles (LinkedIn, ProZ) and considering building an independent website to market my services. I noticed that some of you recommend showcasing one's specialties by posting a portfolio/samples of projects they worked on. I wonder what the etiquette is, as far as copyright goes. Do you have to get some sort of written permission from the client who requested the job and now owns it? What about making certain information such as product/company/individuals' names public?
Thanks for any advice you can provide!
Karine

James_xia  Identity Verified
China
English to Chinese
+ ...
Copyright Aug 29, 2012

Larcher Karine wrote:

Hello fellow translators,
Being fairly new to translation as a freelancer, I am currently working on my various online profiles (LinkedIn, ProZ) and considering building an independent website to market my services. I noticed that some of you recommend showcasing one's specialties by posting a portfolio/samples of projects they worked on. I wonder what the etiquette is, as far as copyright goes. Do you have to get some sort of written permission from the client who requested the job and now owns it? What about making certain information such as product/company/individuals' names public?
Thanks for any advice you can provide!
Karine

Hi Larcher,

Welcome to this forum with ProZ.com! It seems that you have already got some relevant information from this forum. Regarding your questions, here I'd like to emphasize the following two points: