How to figure out Facebook costs
Thread poster: Jessie Nelson
Jessie Nelson
Jessie Nelson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:24
French to English
Aug 7, 2013

I am a French/English medical translator and have been advised to investigate setting up a Facebook page.
I went through the process and had no difficulty, but I can't follow how they charge. I spoke with a representative and he said $40.00 could last 1 month or 1 week. I could not understand the mechanism so did not do it.
Can someone explain.
Jessie

Sarah McDowell
Sarah McDowell  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 07:24
Member (2012)
Russian to English
+ ...
I thought it is free Aug 7, 2013

As far as I know Facebook is still free. What kind of request did you have?

Woodstock (X)
Woodstock (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:24
German to English
+ ...
I don't pay anything for Facebook, Aug 7, 2013

and I don't use it for professional purposes - more for keeping up with friends and family. You can pay for various features, like games or to place advertisements, but not just for normal use, as far as I know. I don't care for it much and hardly use it.

There are a few articles and forum posts here on Proz, but I can't link my search, but you can do your own. Put in "social media" in the search box and check the boxes for Articles
... See more
and I don't use it for professional purposes - more for keeping up with friends and family. You can pay for various features, like games or to place advertisements, but not just for normal use, as far as I know. I don't care for it much and hardly use it.

There are a few articles and forum posts here on Proz, but I can't link my search, but you can do your own. Put in "social media" in the search box and check the boxes for Articles and Forums.

http://www.proz.com/?sp=search

LinkedIn is a platform more geared to professional interests, and I also have a free account there.

http://www.linkedin.com/