Alignment, term extraction, or manual concordance searches? Questions about speeding up workflow
Thread poster: Natron

Natron
Japan
Local time: 13:44
English to Japanese
+ ...
May 21, 2013

Hello, I’m very new to translation and I use MemoQ. I’m looking for advice from seasoned translators on the best plan of attack so I don’t waste time experimenting when I could be translating. For my current job, I have to translate specific procedures to perform using a specific piece of software (Primavera P6). So since this software is made by Oracle, I figured they are a proper company and probably already have translated software manuals for my language pair online. A quick search and success! They do exist. (Thank you fellow translators for doing the hard work for me!)
Eng
Jap

This will help immensely with terminology because I’m not an expert on project management and a lot of the terms, settings, and options are already translated. They are .pdf but in what I’d call “clean pdf” format.

I want to have a clean list of these terms and options but there doesn’t seem to be an easy way to automate this, but maybe I just don’t have enough experience parsing files. I’m trying to avoid running manual concordance searches as much as possible to save time (and my wrist). I don’t think Orcale would provide me with source files, glossaries, TBs, or TMs and they’re certainly not obligated to do so.

My question is what can I do from here!?

In my little time that I spent experimenting, I first converted the pdfs to docx using acrobat.

Since I am using MemoQ, I thought maybe the live align feature would help so I don’t have to repeatedly search for things and spend a lot of time manually aligning things that I may end up not even utilizing.