How to move termbase from Trados to memoQ?
Thread poster: Thomas Johansson

Thomas Johansson  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 14:38
Member (2005)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Nov 13, 2013

I have a termbase in Trados 2011 / SDL MultiTerm that I would like to move over into memoQ 2013.

Is this possible? How to proceed?

Thomas

Direct link Reply with quote

Václav Pinkava  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 21:38
Member (2013)
Czech to English
+ ...
Maybe ... Nov 13, 2013

I'm no expert (yet) but have had no trouble importing into memoQ 2013 from TMX files exported from Trados, - but I guess this is not MultiTerm.

Try this: http://kb.kilgray.com/article/AA-00434/

You may find this useful, too: http://www.translationtribulations.com/2012/09/memoq-for-trados-studio-users.html

Good luck!

[Edited at 2013-11-13 01:31 GMT]

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:38
Finnish to French
GlossaryConverter Nov 13, 2013

If your termbase is not too complex, you may want to try GlossaryConverter, an OpenExchange app written by an SDL employee. You will obtain an Excel file from which you can easily import your terminology into a memoQ termbase.

[Edited at 2013-11-13 06:49 GMT]

Tomasz Sienicki  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2007)
Danish to Polish
+ ...
memoQ 2013 R2 Nov 13, 2013

I believe the newest memoQ version (6.8/2013R2) directly supports importing termbases from Multiterm .xml files -- they are listed as a supported format along with CSV, TSV, TMX, Excel and TBX in the "Import terminology" dialogue.

[Redigerad 2013-11-13 13:08 GMT]

Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Turkey
Member (2006)
English to Turkish
+ ...
memoQ 2013 R2 Nov 13, 2013

The new version will not work for complex MultiTerm termbases. As Kilgray often says, translators do not need complex termbases, it is for agencies and institutions only. Yes, qTerm

Michael Joseph Wdowiak Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:38
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...