https://www.proz.com/forum/memoq_support/265442-inx_files_cannot_import_the_file_in_memoq_45.html

.inx files - cannot import the file in memoQ 4.5
Thread poster: ConnyG
ConnyG
ConnyG
Germany
Local time: 21:09
English to German
+ ...
Mar 4, 2014

Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out as a translator and struggling with some technical issues in my CAT tools. I received some .inx InDesign files from my client and am trying to create a project in memoQ, but when I add the files, I get an error message that the file cannot be imported into memoQ because there is an invalid character.

(TYPE:
System.Xml.XmlException / MESSAGE: '', hexidezimaler Wert 0x06, ist ein ungültiges Zeichen. Zeile 1, Position 1.) SOURCE:
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out as a translator and struggling with some technical issues in my CAT tools. I received some .inx InDesign files from my client and am trying to create a project in memoQ, but when I add the files, I get an error message that the file cannot be imported into memoQ because there is an invalid character.

(TYPE:
System.Xml.XmlException / MESSAGE: '', hexidezimaler Wert 0x06, ist ein ungültiges Zeichen. Zeile 1, Position 1.) SOURCE: System.Xml)

I checked, and I have the .inx filter activated. So, do you think something is wrong with the files or do I need to change any settings in the CAT tool?

PS: I also tried to process the files in Trados Studio, but it also gave me an error message saying that the file type cannot be recognized.

I'd appreciate any help very much.

Best,

Conny
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:09
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Importing an XML file? Mar 5, 2014