Hanging MemoQ?
Thread poster: NancyLynn

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 00:02
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

MODERATOR
Mar 3, 2015

Hello all,

I submitted a job this morning via MemoQ, and when I closed the program I got this little notification saying updates were being installed. OK, this happens all the time, no biggie.

Later on today I had a (thankfully) small project with another client, which I had to check out online, and MemoQ just hung there at every segment. I finally finished the job and returned it to the client, restarted my computer, and reopened MemoQ to work on a project of my own. Same story: every segment hangs for several minutes, such that I'm making supper in between segments!

This might simply be a sign from the Great Beyond to Step Away From The Computer and take a break, but really, I'd like to get this job done sometime tonight!

Also, last week, I got an e-mail from Kilgray saying my support term was up and I needed to renew at a cost of over 100 euros. I wonder: are the behaviours exhibited by MemoQ today related to the fact that I haven't given Kilgray this money yet?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:02
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not at all! Mar 4, 2015

NancyLynn wrote:
I wonder: are the behaviours exhibited by MemoQ today related to the fact that I haven't given Kilgray this money yet?

Never. This would never be Kilgray's attitude to business!

We are also experiencing problems with Build 70 of memoQ 2014, so it must be some real issue in that build. We are thinking of going back to build 69.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 00:02
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
OK, but what about now? Mar 4, 2015

Tomás Cano Binder, CT wrote:
We are also experiencing problems with Build 70 of memoQ 2014, so it must be some real issue in that build. We are thinking of going back to build 69.


Do I go back and use MemoQ 2013, as my client won't wait for Kilgray to decide?

Edit: I apologize, Tomas, I was under the impression you were the Kilgray rep. I do wish that person would make an appearance and give us an ETA on a fix.

[Edited at 2015-03-04 15:38 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Steven Segaert  Identity Verified
Estonia
Local time: 07:02
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Did you try contacting support? Mar 4, 2015

Hi Nancy,

Did you try contacting Kilgray support?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Oscar Martin
Spain
Local time: 06:02
English to Spanish
+ ...
memoQ 2014 build 70 Mar 5, 2015

Hi Tomás,

Regarding build 70, each time you close a document, memoQ shows a general error and shuts down the program. It also takes severals seconds to confirm a segment and go to the next.

Are you experiencing the same issues?

Regards,

Oscar


Direct link Reply with quote
 

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 00:02
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Reply form Kilgray Mar 6, 2015

Dear Nancy,

Thank you for contacting us.
Please try the following:
Temporary disable every anti-virus, backup and file sharing software.
Open the Task manager window in your Operating System and raise the priority of memoQ.exe.
- In Windows 8 click to the more details button in the bottom of the Task manager window, open the details tab, right click on memoQ.exe, under the set priority local menu select "High" or "Real time".
- In Windows 7 open the Task manager, select the processes tab, right click on memoQ.exe, under the set priority local menu select "High" or "Real time".

If this don't help please try to downgrade the software to the previous build. You can download it from the following link: https://www.memoq.com/Kilgray/media/Download/memoQ-2014-Setup-69.exe

So I'm about to try these steps, will let you know.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 00:02
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Seems to be working now Mar 6, 2015

I followed the instructions given to me by the Kilgray rep, and apart from a little dialogue box that warned me that changing the priority of certain processes will cause system instability (gulp) I am now able to work properly.

[Edited at 2015-03-06 16:16 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 00:02
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Discovered something new Mar 7, 2015

I have a touch screen (Dell XPS27) and the program still hangs if I touch the segment, and rights itself immediately as soon as I touch my mouse.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Giovanni Guarnieri MITI, MIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:02
Member (2004)
English to Italian
It's obviously... Mar 8, 2015

NancyLynn wrote:

I have a touch screen (Dell XPS27) and the program still hangs if I touch the segment, and rights itself immediately as soon as I touch my mouse.


a CAT/mouse incompatibility...

Sorry, couldn't resist...

You shouldn't really have to modify a software's priority in order to run correctly... I never ever had to do that... very strange...


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Hanging MemoQ?

Advanced search






Wordfast Pro
Translation Memory Software for Any Platform

Exclusive discount for ProZ.com users! Save over 13% when purchasing Wordfast Pro through ProZ.com. Wordfast is the world's #1 provider of platform-independent Translation Memory software. Consistently ranked the most user-friendly and highest value

More info »
PerfectIt consistency checker
Faster Checking, Greater Accuracy

PerfectIt helps deliver error-free documents. It improves consistency, ensures quality and helps to enforce style guides. It’s a powerful tool for pro users, and comes with the assurance of a 30-day money back guarantee.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search