Khaled El Qaisi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:41
Member (2014)
Arabic to Italian
+ ...
Apr 16, 2015

Good evening.

I'm new to memoQ, as I usually translate with SDL Trados Studio 2014. I have to say that I find memoQ a bit easier to use than Trados, but due to my inexperience, I'm facing some difficulties calculating the price that I have to charge my client.

In fact, while analyzing the project that I'm translating, memoQ shows the following statistic:

All:
32231 words

Ripetitions:
3537 words

101%:
26123 words

100%:
1195 words

95%-99%:
586 words

85%-94%:
244 words

75%-84%:
310 words

50%-74%:
98 words

No match:
138 words

I've noticed that memoQ doesn't count the first time I've translated a word (that would have only later become part of a repeated segment - a so-called "repetition") in the "No match" section.

It's the first time that I use memoQ, so I don't know how to manage this situation.
This is confusing me also because I have agreed with my client on the fact that he would not have had to pay me the full rate for repetitions, but only a percentage of the rate-per-word.

I'm sure that there's a simple solution to this problem, I've searched on Proz.com and Google, but I didn't manage to find it.
I hope that someone of more experienced memoQ users can help me figuring out how to solve this dilemma.

In the meantime, thank you so much for your time and attention.

[Modificato alle 2015-04-16 23:49 GMT]

Italy
Member (2014)
Arabic to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM Apr 16, 2015

P.S.: I forgot to mention the fact that, since memoQ stored translations that I've later corrected, I've played a bit around deleting incorrect entries from the TM.

May this be the cause of all this mess?

Rossana Triaca  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 17:41
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
Are you using the already-filled TM? Apr 16, 2015